Wink the Ninja series, written and illustrated by J.C. Phillipps

Today Biblio Links welcomes the amazingly talented author and illustrator 

J.C. Phillips!

 Julie’s picture books Wink, the Ninja Who Wanted to be Noticed and Wink, the Ninja Who Wanted to Nap, are two books that my students beeline for in the library and that my own kids ask me to read night after night.

I asked Julie, writer and artist extraordinaire, how her books fit into the classroom.

Biblio Links: A student walks into my library and I think, That kid needs a WINK book . Who is this kid?

J.C. Phillipps: That kid is the one who you may need to ask to be quiet during your library presentation.  That kid always raises their hands when a question comes up, because he/she always has something to say.  That kid loves to make people laugh, and really enjoys a good joke.  Also, that kid may be in karate class.  (Karate kids love ninja books.)

Biblio Links: I know just the kids you’re talking about! I’d also add that it’s for the kid who marches to the beat of a different drum, just as Wink does.

If we were to peek into a classroom where a teacher is using your book in a lesson or with a small group, what might we see?

J.C. Phillipps: Because the book is set in Japan, the teacher might be doing a cutural unit about that country.  Although there are no real ninja schools in Japan – to my knowledge – I did do a lot of research about Japanese culture, architecture, and landscapes.  In the very first two-page spread of the book, I littered the stone wall with Japanese posters.  That could be a starting point to learn about Kabuki theater or the raging popularity of Sumo wrestling.  Students could look at Master Zutus and learn about a traditional Japanese kimono.  I did research to design Grandmother’s sitting room.  Perhaps the teacher is asking the students to look at Grandmother’s room and compare and contrast it to the things they find in their own homes.

Biblio Links: Where can teachers, librarians and students learn more about you and your book?

J.C. Phillipps: I have a webpage, www.jcphillipps.com, where people can learn a little about me, see some of my other art in my gallery, see a stop-motion animation book trailer for Wink, The Ninja who Wanted to Nap, or see a short video on my studio.

I also keep a regular blog at www.ninajwoman.blogspot.com.  My blog is a very casual place where I discuss projects that I’m working on, school visits, knitting, paintings, or things my kid is up to.  If you want to get a sense of who I am and what I spend my time doing, my blog is a great place to go.

Biblio Links: Thanks for joining us, Julie!

Teachers and librarians, go to this link to see how Julie turns kids into ninja masters with some paper, scissors and glue, and click here for the curriculum guide.

The Nitty Gritty~

Publisher: Viking

Publication Dates: March, 2009 and March 2011

ISBN-13: 978-0670010929–Wink the Ninja Who Wanted to Be Noticed

ISBN-13: 978-0670011926–Wink the Ninja Who Wanted to Nap

Interest Level: 3-8 years

Number of Pages: 40

3 responses to “Wink the Ninja series, written and illustrated by J.C. Phillipps

  1. Happy to see forty-page picture books are still being published, and the WINKing books look lovely. Goint to check it out.

  2. Natalie Dias Lorenzi

    Thanks for stopping by, Mirka! Actually, the WINK books are 32 pages–I went with what Amazon had posted, but when I looked at my own copies, it adds up to 32 pages.
    Thanks again for leaving a comment, Mirka!

  3. Pingback: Monkey Ono, written and illustrated by J.C. Phillipps | Biblio Links

Leave a Reply

